I’ll Be Thinking About You

By Austin B. Hahn

One of the saddest moments of my life was when I realized that I won’t be the one to love you. You’ll probably go off with another man. You’ll share your secrets with him, tell him all the things that I wanted to know about you, laugh with him, make memories with him that you’ll be able to look back on in a photo book when you’re old, and you’ll fall asleep in his arms at night instead of mine.

I wanted to know what was written in the pages of your heart’s diary. I wanted to be the one who wakes up with you in the morning as the sun rises. I wanted to be the one who you light up to when no one is around. I wanted to be the one in the pictures next to you. I’ll never get to know what loving you is like. I’ll just be thinking about you as my head lays on my pillow until I drift off.

All I wanted to do was love you

Leave a comment